What are the workers’ compensation laws in Virginia?

Worker’s compensation laws were enacted in the state of Virginia in 1918. The same law that enacted them also established the Industrial Commission which became known as the Virginia Worker’s Compensation Commission in 1991. The law states that all employers who employ 2 workers or more must carry and provide adequate worker’s compensation coverage.

This coverage provides timely medical care, medications, and lost wages for time off to heal from injuries. The Commonwealth Law Group can help clients file a workers’ compensation claim or file an appeal after a claim has been denied. It also helps if you are familiar with the laws governing worker’s compensation in the state of Virginia.

Here’s what you need to know about the worker’s compensation laws in the state of Virginia.

Who must carry worker’s compensation?

All employers with at least 2 employees must carry worker’s compensation coverage by law in the state of Virginia. This includes full-time, part-time, temporary, and seasonal employees. Virginia law is very specific about who must carry worker’s compensation insurance. Many employers choose to pay employees as subcontractors to avoid carrying this insurance but in Virginia, it doesn’t matter. Subcontractors must also be provided worker’s compensation insurance even if they carry their own.

Sole proprietors are exempt from this rule if they don’t have any employees or use subcontractors. Employers who don’t comply are subject to civil penalties and may be held financially liable for any injuries that occur. Repeat violations may incur criminal penalties and the business may have to close until they comply.

What does worker’s compensation in Virginia cover?

Worker’s compensation covers the medical costs associated with necessary treatment stemming from a workplace injury or illness. It also covers ongoing treatment like physical therapy along with a portion of an employee’s lost wages while they are unable to work. Worker’s compensation will pay disability benefits if an employee is left disabled and it will also pay death benefits in the unfortunate event of a fatality. The Commonwealth Law Group can help ensure all relevant expenses are covered in your claim and help you file an appeal if benefits are denied.

How long do I have to file a claim?

All claims should be reported to your supervisor within 30 days of the date of the incident. Not all symptoms manifest immediately, so there is a statute of limitations involved. Claims must be reported within 2 years to be eligible for payment. Failing to report within these guidelines can cause your claim to be denied.

Partner with a Worker’s Compensation Attorney Today

Worker’s compensation laws were enacted to protect both employees and employers. Employees are provided immediate necessary medical care for on-the-job injuries and in exchange, they give up the right to sue their employer. However, this doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t partner with a great attorney after an on-the-job injury. The Commonwealth Law Group can help you build your claim and represent your rights throughout the process. They can also help file an appeal in the unfortunate event that your claim is denied. If you have been injured on the job, partner with the Commonwealth Law Group today and protect your rights.

About Noah

Check Also

How to Find the Right Personal Injury Lawyer in Rockford, Illinois?

Having the right personal injury lawyer is an important factor in making sure you receive …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *